Empire Countries

=		
Country	Treaty or Convention	Terms
United Kingdom	Trade Agreement signed Feb. 23, 1937; in force Sept. 1, 1937. (Modified by United Kingdom- United States Trade Agree- ment of Nov. 17, 1938.)	Various concessions on both sides, increasing preference formerly granted. Also extends pre- ferential system between Canada and the Colonial Empire. Made until August 20, 1940, and thereafter until terminated on six months' notice.
Eire	Trade Agreement signed Aug. 20, 1932; in force Jan. 2, 1933.	Canada concedes British Pre- ferential Tariff in return for most-favoured-nation treat- ment in Eire. Made for five years and thereafter until terminated on six months' notice.
Australia	Trade Agreement signed July 8, 1931; in force Aug. 3, 1931.	Each country accords the other reduced rates on schedules of goods, and otherwise (with a few exceptions in Australia) exchange their British Pre- ferential Tariffs with each other. Made for one year and thereafter until terminated on six months' notice.
New Zealand	Trade Agreement signed Apr. 23, 1932; in force May 24, 1932.	Exchange specific preferences on scheduled goods and otherwise concede British Preferential Tariffs reciprocally. Made for one year, but kept in force by short-term extensions. Since Sept. 30, 1941, in force until terminated by six months' notice.
UNION OF SOUTH AFRICA.	Trade Agreement signed Aug. 20, 1932; in force Oct. 13, 1932.	Agreement extends list of pre- ferences formerly exchanged in absence of formal Agree- ment. Made for five years and thereafter until terminated on six months' notice.
British West Indies.	Trade Agreement signed July 6, 1925; in force Apr. 30, 1927.	Exchange of specific margins of preferences. Made for twelve years and thereafter until terminated on one year's notice. A Canadian notice of Nov. 23, 1938, terminating the Agreement, was replaced by one of Dec. 27, 1939, con- tinuing the Agreement subject to termination on six months' notice.